Building Democracy After Conflict: The ‘Helsinki Moment’ in Southeastern Europe

Issue Date January 2005
Volume 16
Issue 1
Page Numbers 39-53
file Print
arrow-down-thin Download from Project MUSE
external View Citation

After the accession of ten new member states in 2004, the European Union seeks to expand its sphere of stability and prosperity toward the southeast, from Croatia all the way to Turkey. While democratic consolidation and economic development is already underway in Bulgaria, Romania, and Turkey, other countries of the region appear to be falling behind. Although the European Union has declared that all these countries share “a common European destination,” the various strategies being pursued to bring them to that destination differ profoundly. Three models may be discerned: traditional capacity-building; authoritarian state-building (in the two European protectorates of Bosnia-Herzegovina and Kosovo); and member-state building (in the official EU candidate countries of Romania, Bulgaria, Croatia, and Turkey).

About the Authors

Gerald Knaus

Gerald Knaus is president and founding chairman of the European Stability Initiative. He is also a founding member of the European Council on Foreign Relations and was for five years an associate fellow of the Carr Center for Human Rights Policy at Harvard’s Kennedy School of Government. He is coauthor (with Rory Stewart) of Can Intervention Work? (2011).

View all work by Gerald Knaus

Marcus Cox

Marcus Cox is the European Stability Initiative (ESI)’s senior editor and a former advisor to the Office of the High Representative in Bosnia and Herzegovina. ESI, an independent nonprofit association undertaking research on the future of the European Union and its periphery, is headquartered in Berlin and has offices in a number of other European cities, including Istanbul.

View all work by Marcus Cox