| Country | Constitution | Presidential Term | Number of terms | Limit Tested | Observations | CDI 2015 |
|-------------------|--------------|----------------------|-----------------|-----------------|---|----------|
| | | | | | | |
| Benin | 1990 | 5 years | 2 | yes | | 7.6 |
| Botswana | 1997 | 5 years | 2 | yes | | 8.1 |
| Burkina Faso | 2000 | 5 years | 2 | no | Kaboré elected 2015 after overthrow Compaoré in 2014 | 4.6 |
| Burundi | 2005 | 5 years | 2 | no | Nkurunziza elected for unconstitutional third term in 2015 | 4.7 |
| Cameroon | 2008 | 7 years | unlimited | N.A. | | 3.5 |
| Cape Verde | 1990 | 5 years | 2 | yes | opposition candidate elected in 1991, 2001, 2011 | 9.3 |
| CAR | 2015 | 5 years | 2 | no | Samba-Panza appointed interim president in 2014 | 2.1 |
| Chad | 2005 | 5 years | unlimited | N.A. | Déby in power since 1991 | 2.7 |
| Comoros | 2009 | 5 years | 1 | yes | presidency rotating over the islands | 6.8 |
| Congo Republic | 2015 | 5 years | 3 | no | 2015 amendment adopted to allow Sassou Nguesso more terms | 4 |
| Côte d'Ivoire | 2000 | 5 years | 2 | no | Ouattara elected after overthrow of Gbagbo in 2011 | 3.2 |
| Djibouti | 2010 | 5 years | unlimited | N.A. | 2010 amendment adopted to allow Guelleh more terms | 4.9 |
| DRC | 2006 | 5 years | 2 | no | election unlikely in 2016, allowing Kabila to stay beyond 2nd term | 4.3 |
| Equatorial Guinea | 2011 | 7 years | 2 | no | 2011 amendment adopted to allow Obiang more terms | 2 |
| Eritrea | 1997 | 5 years | 2 | no | No elections since 1993 | 2 |
| Ethiopia | 1995 | 6 years | 2 | yes | and has no term limits | 3.5 |
| Gabon | 2003 | 7 years | unlimited | N.A. | 2003 amendment adopted to allow Bongo more terms | 4.4 |
| Gambia | 1997 | 5 years | unlimited | N.A. | | 2.9 |
| Ghana | 1992 | 4 years | 2 | yes | | 8.6 |
| Guinea | 2010 | 5 years | 2 | no | | 4.9 |
| Guinea-Bissau | 1991 | 5 years | 2 | yes | | 4.8 |
| Kenya | 2010 | 5 years | 2 | yes | | 6.8 |
| Lesotho | 2009 | N.A. | N.A. | N.A. | monarchy; no term limits for prime minister | 7.6 |
| Liberia | 1984 | 6 years | 2 | no | civil war until 2006; Sirleaf elected in 2006; re-elected in 2011 | 6.7 |
| Madagascar | 2010 | 5 years | 2 | yes | opposition leader elected in 2014 | 5.8 |
| | | | 2 successive | | | |
| Malawi | 1995 | 5 years | terms | yes | | 6.9 |
| Mali | 1992 | 5 years | 2 | yes | | 5.5 |
| Mauritania | 2006 | 5 years | 2 | no | Aziz elected in 2009 after overthrow Abdallahi; re-elected 2014 | 3.9 |
| | | | | | president elected by parliament; prime minister holds executive power | |
| Mauritius | 1968 | 5 years | unlimited | N.A. | and has no term limits | 9.2 |

| Mozambique | 2004 | 5 years | 2 | yes | | 6.1 |
|---------------------|------|---------|--------------|------|---|-----|
| Namibia | 1998 | 5 years | 2 | yes | | 7.7 |
| Niger | 2010 | 5 years | 2 | no | | 6.4 |
| Nigeria | 199 | 4 years | 2 | yes | Opposition candidate elected in 2015 | 5.7 |
| | | | | | 2015 amendment gives Kagame additional 7 year term and two 5 year | |
| Rwanda | 2015 | 5 years | 2 | no | terms after his two 7 year terms | 3.4 |
| | | | 2 successive | | | |
| Sao Tome e Principe | 2003 | 5 years | terms | yes | | 8.6 |
| Senegal | 2008 | 7 years | 2 | yes | | 7.6 |
| Seychelles | 1993 | 5 years | 3 | yes | | 7.1 |
| Sierra Leone | 1991 | 5 years | 2 | yes | | 6.7 |
| South Africa | 1996 | 5 years | 2 | yes | president elected by parliament | 8.3 |
| South Sudan | 2011 | 4 years | unlimited | N.A. | Kir's term (elected in 2010) extended by 3 years in 2015 | 2.6 |
| Sudan | 2005 | 5 years | 2 | no | term limits not respected | 2.4 |
| Swaziland | 2005 | N.A. | N.A. | N.A. | absolute monarchy; prime minister maximum 2 consecutive terms | 1.8 |
| Tanzania | 1992 | 5 years | 2 | yes | | 5.9 |
| | | | | | 2002 amendment adopted to allow Gnassinbe Eyadema an additional | |
| Togo | 2002 | 5 years | unlimited | N.A. | term; his son elected in 2005 | 4.6 |
| Uganda | 2005 | 5 years | unlimited | N.A. | | 4.9 |
| Zambia | 1996 | 5 years | 2 | yes | | 7.1 |
| Zimbabwe | 2013 | 5 years | 2 | no | Mugabe started 5th term in 2014; can stay for another 10 years | 4.7 |